Social Welfare Minor

The Social Welfare Minor provides a comprehensive understanding of the social welfare system, the values behind it, and the social issues facing individuals, families, groups and communities. It provides an understanding of social welfare and social service programs, and introduces students to the wide variety of Social Work positions.

Students complete one required course and four elective courses offered by the Department of Social Work for a total of 15 credits. If a student chooses to Major in Social Work, all the courses taken for the Social Welfare Minor will apply to the Major; however, students cannot receive both a Minor in Social Welfare and a Major in Social Work at the same time. Only students who graduate with a degree in Social Work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) are eligible to be licensed as social workers in the State of Iowa (LBSW) and can be considered for Advanced Standing in the MSW program.


UNI's Department of Social Work is fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).

in Iowa

UNI offers the largest Bachelor of Arts in Social Work program in the state of Iowa.


Social work faculty have extensive experience working in a variety of clinical and agency settings.

Find out more about Social Welfare

Contact us directly at:

Department of Social Work
Sabin Hall, Room 235
Cedar Falls, IA 50614

BSW Program Director
Libby Fry
Phone: 319-273-7204