College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

CSBS Advisory Board

CSBS continues to strengthen the college and its programs with the help of the CSBS Advisory Board. 

The goal of the board is to make CSBS a premier college at UNI, enhancing the quality of education for its students and promoting leadership, innovation, and service to the campus, community, state, and nation. 

Board members will be entrusted with offering advice on programs and initiatives; advocating for CSBS within the community, state, and nation; increasing the visibility of CSBS; and facilitating the acquisition of resources needed for the development of programs, student scholarships, and faculty research and teaching, as CSBS positions itself to be a leader in the social and behavioral sciences.

Members of the CSBS Advisory Board are:


Angela Carnahan

Angela Carnahan

'99 Psychology

Business Development Specialist, Nationwide Insurance                    Des Moines, Iowa





Troy Cook

Troy Cook

‘90 Psychology

Vice President, Employer Benefits Business, Marsh & McLennan Companies; Des Moines, Iowa

  Dylan Keller Headshot

Dylan Keller

‘14 History & Political Communications, '16 History (MA)

Director of Fundraising, Senate Majority Fund-Republican Party of Iowa, Des Moines, Iowa


Katie Kuker Headshot

Katie Kuker

'06 Psychology, 08 Psychology (MA)

Division Manager-Human Resources, John Deere Dubuque Works, Dubuque, Iowa

  Larry McKibben

Larry McKibben

‘70 Political Science

Attorney; Moore, McKibben, Goodman, Lorenz & Ellefson, LLP; Marshalltown, Iowa

Tom Newton

Tom Newton

‘94 Political Science, ‘02 Public Policy 

Director of Network Engagement, Wellmark Blue Cross/Blue Shield; Des Moines, Iowa

  Steve Quirk

Steve Quirk

‘92 Political Science, ‘94 Public Policy 

Executive Director, Youth Emergency Services & Shelters; Des Moines, Iowa

David Van Sickel

David Van Sickel

‘74 History

Attorney; Davis, Brown, Koehn, Shors & Roberts PC; Des Moines, Iowa

  Ann Starr

Anne Starr

'80 Psychology

Chief Executive Officer, Orchard Place; Des Moines, Iowa


Michae Wright


Michael Wright

'69 American History

Executive Director, Texas Pharmacy Business Council, Austin, Texas